Unconditional 

It’s silly, really

     I have a difficult time

Believing 

     In unconditional love. ❤️

Everyone has their own

     “deal breakers” in relationships.

Being in love seems to come

     with rules & expectations.

Ironically, as a skeptic, 

    I have found unconditional love 

In the eyes of my rescue “mutt“.

     We have been through 

a lifetime together,

     His.

He loved me, protected me, waited for me

     and died in my arms.

It’s been four years since then

     but I’ll never

It’s cruel to realize

     that their lives are so much 

shorter than ours.

I don’t know if I can find

     a spirit so special as his anywhere else,

or why I drop to my knees, sob and 

     pray /beg for his return.

Live for the one I love ❤️ 

     Love for the one who lived.


“You found parts of me I didn’t know existed and in you I found a love I no longer believed was real.” ~B

One thought on “Unconditional 

Leave a Reply

